Displays a collection of approximately 800 Greek vases. The Museum's collection contains representative examples of the art and culture of ancient Egypt and Mesopotamia, Greece, Etruria and Rome. Collection is the realisation of the vision in 1954 of the then Professor of Classics, JR. Elliott, to create a collection which would both serve as a teaching adjunct to the courses in the Department of History and Classics and provide an exhibition of original antiquities accessible to all Tasmanians. Contact: (03) 6226 2235.
Location: University of Tasmania, University Centre, Churchill Avenue, Hobart.
Maritime Museum Of Tasmania
Displaying Tasmania's rich maritime heritage. The Museum's collection includes historic items, paintings and ships models. The displays cover the exploits of early explorers, the whaling industry, stories of trading barges and ferries in the everyday life of days now gone, and the central role of sailing ships and steam ships in the export of apples, minerals and timber. Entry fees apply. The Museum operates 2-hour Port Walk guided walking tours which take in The Maritime Museum, Colonial Gallery (Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery), Hunter Island, Victoria Dock, Constitution Dock and the ketch, May Queen, Mawson Place, Waterman's Dock, Salamanca Place and Abel Tasman Memorial (charges apply, bookings essential). Contact: (03) 6234 1427. Location: Carnegie House, 16 Argyle Street, Sullivans Cove, Hobart.
Tour the oldest military establishment in Australia. Built in 1811, this is the oldest military establishment in Australia. Many of the buildings have been restored and the external grounds are open to the public. Access to the interior of the barracks is limited to one tour per week as the Australian Army still uses the facility. The tour incorporates the hospital (now commander's residence), the original officers' quarters and mess, various military memorials, the old drill hall and the jail, which is now the 6th Military District Museum. Contact: (03) 6237 7160.
Location: Barrack Street, Street, Hobart.
Narryna Heritage Museum
Narryna is a handsome Georgian house set in a picturesque, old-world setting. The museum houses many unique and rare items from Tasmania's colonial past. Each room contains items that represent life for a wealthy merchant in Hobart, as well as showcasing many items complementing the domestic duties that were carried out by servants. Narryna also has one of the largest costume collections in the Southern Hemisphere. Costumes are rotated regularly throughout the museum and represent the clothes worn by women of the period. Location: 103 Hampden Road, Battery Point. Phone (03) 6234 2791.
Tasmanian Museum and Gallery
The home to Tasmania's state art and historical artefacts collection, Tasmania's state museum and art gallery was established in the 1840s as the museum of the Royal Society of Tasmania. The buildings and site are of historical significance and include the first purpose built museum building dated 1863. The collections include Natural Sciences (Zoology, Botany, Geology), Applied Science, Humanities (Art, Decorative Arts, Costume, Social History, Indigenous Cultures, Numismatics, Photographs, Documents and Ephemera) and Library. Free admission, except for some special exhibitions. Contact: (03) 6165 7000; recorded information (03) 6211 4114.
Location: Dunn Place, Hobart.
Mawson's Huts Replica Museum
The Mawson's Huts Replica Museum stands on the waterfront in Hobart, near the wharf from which the SY Aurora sailed south to Antarctica with Douglas Mawson's Australasian Antarctic Expedition of 1911-14 on board. It was the pre-eminent scientific expedition of its time to South Polar regions. Mawson's Huts represent the only in-situ evidence of early Australian Antarctic research. The museum gives visitors an historic insight into the daily lives of the AAE expeditioners who spent two winters living and working in the windiest place on Earth.
Old Hobart Gaol
The Penitentiary Chapel Historic Site was built in the early 1830's according to the design of Colonial Architect and Civil Engineer John Lee Archer. Originally designed as a chapel for the growing convict population, there was also the inclusion of 36 solitary confinement punishment cells constructed beneath the chapel floor. This chapel served the adjoining Prisoners Barracks which later became the Hobart Gaol. The Penitentiary Chapel complex offers a fascinating insight into Colonial Tasmania. Day tours and evening ghost tours available. Location: Cnr Campbell and Brisbane Streets, Hobart. Phone: (03) 6231 0911.
Cascades Female Factory
Cascades Female Factory was a work factory which employed female convicts under sentence in the colony and housed them prior to the erection of the Campbell Street Gaol. Operated between 1828 and 1856 on a site previously owned by Lowes Rum Distillery, the existing buildings were extended in 1827 to house the increasing numbers of female convicts under sentence in the colony. The complex gradually extended to encompass a series of five yards, around which cells, storerooms, workrooms and offices were built. Female factories were a unique Australian response to the management of convict women, and one that reflects 19th century moral and penal philosophies. Entry fees apply.
Location: 16 Degraves St, South Hobart.
Allport Library and Museum of Fine Arts
Henry Allport bequeathed the contents of the Allport Library and Museum of Fine Arts to the people of Tasmania in 1965. Convict artists and the work of many colonial landscape artists are a feature of the collection. The Allport Library contains almost 6000 books and pamphlets. The Gallery presents several exhibitions a year showing artwork and other items from the collections. Disabled access available.
Location: State Library of Tasmania, Ground Floor, 91 Murray Street, Hobart. Contact: (03) 6233 7484.